Student Alcohol Policy and Procedures

University policies concerning the possession and consumption of alcoholic beverages do not contravene federal, state, or municipal law regarding their purchase. A summary of certain sections of the North Carolina State Statutes and local ordinances of alcoholic use is included below:

North Carolina Laws on Alcohol

North Carolina Alcoholic Beverage Control Laws provide as follows:

  1. It is unlawful for any person under twenty‐one years of age to purchase, attempt to purchase, possess, or consume an alcoholic beverage. GS 18B-302(b). Violation by a 19 or 20 year old is a Class 3 misdemeanor, with punishment ranging from 1-20 days in jail, a fine up to $200 and probation. GS 18B-302(i); 15A-1340.23; 15A-1343. In addition, if the underage person was engaged in the act of purchasing or attempting to purchase an alcoholic beverage, his/her driver’s license will be revoked. GS 18B-302(g)(3).
  2. It is unlawful for any person to aid or abet an underage person in the purchase or attempted purchase of alcoholic beverages. GS 18B‐302(c). Violation by a person under the age of 21 is a Class 2 misdemeanor, with punishment ranging from 1-60 days in jail, a fine up to $1,000, probation and license revocation. GS 18B‐302(c)(1) and (g)(2); 15A-1340.23; 15A-1343. Violation by a person age 21 or older is a Class 1 misdemeanor, with punishment ranging from 1- 120 days in jail, a fine determined by the court, probation and license revocation. GS 18B‐302(c)(2) and (g)(2); 15A-1340.23; 18B-302.1(b); 15A-1343.
  3. It is unlawful for any person knowingly to sell or give alcoholic beverages to an underage person. GS 18B‐302(a) and (a1). Violation is a Class 1 misdemeanor, with punishment ranging from 1- 120 days in jail, a fine determined by the court, probation and license revocation. GS 15A- 1340.23; 18B-302.1(a); 18B-302 (g)(4); 15A-1343.
  4. It is unlawful for any underage person to use, or attempt to use, an altered or falsified driver’s license or other identification document or to use, or attempt to use, a driver’s license or other identification document issued to another person in order to obtain or attempt to obtain alcoholic beverages. GS 18B‐302(e). Violation is a Class 1 misdemeanor, with punishment ranging from 1-120 days in jail, a fine determined by the court, probation and license revocation. GS 15A- 1340.23; 18B-302(g)(1); 14-3; 15A-1343
  5. It is unlawful for any person to permit use of his/her driver’s license or any other identification document by an underage person to purchase or attempt to purchase alcoholic beverages. GS 18B‐302(f). Violation is a Class 1 misdemeanor, with punishment ranging from 1-120 days in jail, a fine determined by the court, probation and license revocation. GS 15A-1340.23; 18B- 302(g)(1); 14-3; 15A-1343
  6. It is unlawful for any person to consume any alcoholic beverage in or on any public street, right- of‐way, sidewalk, alley, or other public place within the City or on any City owned property located inside or outside the Greensboro corporate limits. Punishment is pursuant to the Ordinances of the City of Greensboro.
  7. A person commits the offense of impaired driving if he drives any vehicle upon any highway, any street, or any public vehicular area within this State:
    1. While under the influence of an impairing substance; or
    2. After having consumed sufficient alcohol that he has, at any relevant time after the driving, an alcohol concentration of 0.08 or more. The results of a chemical analysis shall be deemed sufficient evidence to prove a person’s alcohol concentration; or
    3. With any amount of a Schedule I controlled substance, as listed in GS 90-89 or its metabolites in his blood or urine.

GS 20-138.1(a). Impaired driving is a Class 1 misdemeanor, with punishment ranging from 1day to 24 months, fines up to $4,000, community service, probation and license revocation. GS 20-138.1(d); 20-179.

Detailed Student Alcohol Policy

 


Leave a Reply or trackback