Division of Student Affairs

Division of Student Affairs Celebrates Excellence

Posted on Monday, May 20th, 2019 by Coretta Walker under Events. Tags:

Greensboro, N.C. – The UNC Greensboro Division of Student Affairs announced its annual award winners in its End of Year Celebration on Wednesday, May 15. Reimagined as the DSA Family Festival, over 200 employees came together to have fun, relax,  and reflect on an exemplary year. The celebration included recognition of the staff excellence and service award recipients.

The list of 2019 staff excellence award recipients follows:

Partnership Award: Austin McKim (Office of New Student Transitions and First Year Experience)
Unsung Hero Award: Kristina Gage (Office of Leadership & Civic Engagement)
Team Player Awards: Caitlin Payne (Department of Recreation & Wellness)
Graduate Assistant of the Year:  Jessica “Twitch” Twitchell (Office of Intercultural Engagement)
Rookie of the Year: Ashley Owens (Housing & Residence Life)
Culture of Care Award: Alex Hauer (Department of Recreation & Wellness)
Excellence in Assessment Award: Shelley Wald (Office of Housing & Residence Life)
Department Assessment Award: Office of Campus Activities & Programs
Community IMPACT Award: Christine E. Woods (Office of Housing & Residence Life)
Diversity & Inclusion Award: Demarcus Merritt (Office of Housing & Residence Life)
Legacy of Excellence Award: Venoria Douglas

Service awards were given for five, 10, 15, 25 and 30 years of state service as follows:

The 30-Year Service Awards were presented to Melissa Minyard (HRL) and Venoria Douglas (HRL).

The 25-Year Service Award was presented to Maricia Terrell (SHS).

The 15-Year Service Awards were presented to Laura Ripplinger (OARS), Gretchen Pugh (DSA), Yvonne Lindsay (EUC), Theretha Ward (HRL), Christopher Gregory (HRL), Kim Sexton-Lewter (RecWell), and Melvalyn Pate (DSA).

The 10-Year Service Awards were presented to Robert Barker (DOS), Mary Anderson (DOS), Phillip Garrison (HRL), Konnie Hauser (HRL), Elizabeth Walker (HRL), Michael Ackerman (RecWell), Erik Unger (RecWell), Rashaun Deberry (SHS), Matthew Beck (SHS), and A Pu (SHS).

Five-Year Service Awards were presented to Rusty Rogers (OARS), Steve Moore (HRL), Earl Christian (HRL), Margaret Felka (HRL), Josh Beck (HRL), Maurice Gordon (HRL), Lindsay Burkhart (HRL), Preston Smith (HRL), Kelly Miles (SHS), Emily Sullivan (SHS), and Marcia Beverly (SHS).


Picture of the 2019 Staff Excellence Awards winners (from left to right) – Ashley Owens (HRL); Venoria Douglas (HRL); Austin McKim (NST&FYE); Christine E. Woods (HRL); Kristina Gage (OLCE); Demarcus Merritt (HRL); Jessica “Twitch” Twitchell (OIE); Shelley Wald (HRL); Alexandra Marchesano and Meredith Atchison (CAP); Alex Hauer; and Dr. Cathy Akens, Vice Chancellor for Student Affairs.

Picture of the Division of Student Affairs employees who attended the event.